NRI Pulse

City News

Atlanta’s Dr. Ayesha Suneja Seymour and Sweta Sneha among ’20 Global Women of Excellence’ recognized at Congressional Women’s Day celebrations


Cover photo: Dr. Ayesha Suneja Seymour (left) and Sweta Sneha.

Atlanta, GA, March 22, 2024: In alignment with the theme of the 2024 International Women’s Day, “Inspire Inclusion”, American Multi-Ethnic Coalition (AMEC-USA) and the Multi-Ethnic Advisory Task Force (MEATF-IL) recognized “20 global women of excellence” representing the United States, India, and Nigeria, during the 12th Annual Congressional Women’s Day Celebrations on March 6, 2024, in the Ford House Office Building at the US Capitol.

Atlanta’s Dr. Ayesha Suneja Seymour, clinical psychologist and Sweta Sneha, founder, executive director, and professor of Healthcare Management Informatics, at Kennesaw State University were among the 20 women honored at the event.

The awardees were welcomed by Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi. Referring to Dr. Vijay Prabhakar, founder of AMEC-USA and MEATF-IL, as an “incredibly resourceful leader for the community,” Krishnamoorthi said that to go far, it is important to ensure that the world is a “more inclusive place – a place that we want to see not just for ourselves, but for all of mankind.”

Dr. Prabhakar thanked Members of Congress Krishnamoorthi, Jackson, Danny Davis, and Shri Thanedar for their presence to honor the “extraordinary women.” He also appreciated AMEC-USA Atlanta Chapter Chair, Mustafa Ajmeri for his contribution to the community and AMEC.

“When I first got into this field, I found that Mental Health was often a topic of avoidance and shame in our Indian, Pakistani and South Asian communities. Today I meet with such women all over the US who are shifting this paradigm.  This award is not a recognition of my success, but that of the courageous mothers, daughters, sisters and aunties who are sharing their struggles and empowering other women to share their stories. The mute have found their voice and I’m deeply honored to be a part of their story,” Dr. Seymour said. “I am deeply grateful and humbled to receive this incredible recognition.  This honor would not have been possible without the endorsement of Mustafa Ajmeri ji.  He has been instrumental in advocating for women’s empowerment and so thoughtful and generous with his guidance and support,” she added.

“A big shoutout to U.S. Congressman Danny K. Davis, Raja Krishnamoorthi Jonathan Jackson Shri Thanedar, Ph.D., and Dr Vijay Prabhakar and Mustafa Ajmeri for giving me the honor and the opportunity to be represented at a national platform. Your service and impact to the community is inspirational,” Sneha expressed.

Congressman Danny Davis, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Jonathan Jackson and Congresswoman Delia Ramirez all representing Illinois along with President of Chicago Medical Society Dr. Tariq Butt, Shan Vaithilingam, South Asia Advertising Executive, The Global Eye, Los Angeles who hails from Sri Lanka and Founder of Dads with Daughters, New York Ravi KARKARA were all presented the Edward & Lily Prabhakar Centenary Awards. This Award commemorates the birth centenary of Edward & Lily Prabhakar, the parents of Dr VGP, the founder of AMEC & MEATF. Washington Bureau Chief of News India Times, T. Vishnudatta Jayaraman received the special Newton Devasahayam Centenary Award.

Caldwell Realty Top Performer Kathy Thorat , Meridian Health CEO Sherri Husa, Black Public Safety Alliance Chicago Founder Nikki Harvey ,State Assemblywoman Jennifer Rajkumar, Dr Twin Green, CEO , The Link & Option Center , South Holland , IL,  Cynthia Dorsey Edwards, CEO Storehouse of Solutions , Atlanta, Dr Rani Yousefzai , CEO, Belleza Med Spa , Skokie, IL , Melani Fernando , Executive Director , Aetna Health Plan of Illinois,  Delia Davis, Deputy Director of NACHC, Washington D.C., White House Correspondent of ANI, Reena Bhardwaj, President & CEO of Esolvit, Shashi Thanedar, Community Activist from Detroit, Michigan, Usha Boddapu, Founder of SAPNA, Dr. Sarada Sonty, and Founder of Vidya Jyothi, Pratibha Jairath, National Cultural Service Coordinator of TANA, Naperville, IL, Dr. Uma Katiki, Mayor of Dolton, IL, Tiffany Henyard, Renowned Fuji Singer, Taiwo O Fatai from Nigeria, 20th President of SBMT, Dr. Vicky Yamamoto, Co-President of India Franchise Council, Seema Govil, Vice Chancellor of Gujarat University, Dr. Neeraja Gupta, Co-Founder of Jesus is Alive Ministries, Felicia Kiran, Principal of St. Thomas College, Dr. T. S. Prema, former Vice Chancellor of TNPESU, Dr. Sheila Stephen from India, Menka Soni, community leader and philanthropist, from Seattle, Washington were among the other awardees who were honored at the ceremony .

Related posts

Shakti at 50: Five musical geniuses leave Atlanta in awe


Dunwoody Indians host Holi drawing & coloring contest


Thousands throng Hindu Temple of Atlanta to celebrate Navodaya and Vaikunta Ekadasi


Leave a Comment