NRI Pulse
NRI News

India maul Pakistan at Eden to extend World Cup hegemony

Kolkata, March 19 (IANS) Extending its hegemony over Pakistan in World Cups, India chased down 119 to register an emphatic six-wicket win over the arch rivals in their rain-curtailed World Twenty20 Group 2 encounter at the Eden Gardens here on Saturday.

Put in to bat first after the match was reduced to 18 overs a side, Pakistan managed a modest 118/5 with Shoaib Malik (26) being the top scorer.

Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 55 off 37 balls as India chased down the target with 15 balls remaining to extend their unbeaten record against Pakistan in all World Cups to 11 matches.

Mohammad Sami (2/17) was the most successful Pakistani bowler.

Following is the scorecard:

Pakistan innings (18 overs maximum)

Sharjeel Khan c Pandya b Raina 17
Ahmed Shehzad c Jadeja b Bumrah 25
Shahid Afridi c Kohli b Pandya 8
Umar Akmal c Dhoni b Jadeja 22
Shoaib Malik c Ashwin b Nehra 26
Sarfraz Ahmed not out 8
Mohammad Hafeez not out 5
Extras (b 2, lb 3, w 1, nb 1) 7
Total (5 wickets; 18 overs) 118 (6.55 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-38 (Sharjeel Khan, 7.4 ov), 2-46 (Ahmed Shehzad, 9.2 ov), 3-60 (Shahid Afridi, 11.5 ov), 4-101 (Umar Akmal, 15.5 ov), 5-105 (Shoaib Malik, 16.2 ov)
Ashish Nehra 4-0-20-1
R. Ashwin 3-0-12-0
Jasprit Bumrah 4-0-32-1
Ravinder Jadeja 4-0-20-1
Suresh Raina 1-0-4-1
Hardik Pandya 2-0-25-1
India innings
Rohit Sharma c Shoaib Malik b Mohammad Amir 10
Shikhar Dhawan b Mohammad Sami 6
Virat Kohli not out 55
Suresh Raina b Mohammad Sami 0
Yuvraj Singh c Mohammad Sami b Wahab Riaz 24
M.S. Dhoni not out 13
Extras (lb 3, w 7, nb 1) 11
Total (4 wickets; 15.5 overs) 119 (7.51 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-14 (Sharma, 2.1 ov), 2-23 (Dhawan, 4.3 ov), 3-23 (Raina, 4.4 ov), 4-84 (Yuvraj Singh, 11.6 ov)
Mohammad Amir 3-1-11-1
Mohammad Irfan 2.5-0-25-0
Mohammad Sami 2-0-17-2
Shahid Afridi 4-0-25-0
Shoaib Malik 2-0-22-0
Wahab Riaz 2-0-16-1
Match Details
Toss – India, who chose to field
Player of the match – Virat Kohli
Umpires – I.J. Gould (England) and R.A. Kettleborough (England)
TV umpire – B.N.J. Oxenford (Australia)
Match referee – B.C. Broad (England)
Reserve umpire – J.S. Wilson (West Indies)

Related posts

Yoga on Capitol Hill


Indian ethnic groups in America celebrate their culture


American Telugu Association gearing up for its grand silver jubilee 2016 conference in Chicago


Leave a Comment