NRI Pulse

NRI News

Indian American physicians elect new leaders for 2021-22 and beyond

Cover photo: Dr. Anupama Gotimukula, incoming President of AAPI.


Chicago, IL, April 15, 2021: “We have successfully concluded our elections for the year 2021-22 for AAPI leadership positions,” Dr. Sudhakar Jonnalagadda, current President of AAPI recently announced. “Members of American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (AAPI) have voted for the first time electronically and have elected a new and dynamic team to lead AAPI, the largest ethnic medical organization in the United States in the coming year and beyond.”

While announcing the results of the election after months-long campaigning for several offices to the national body and regional chapters, Dr. Seema Arora, Chief Election Officer, 2021 said, Dr. Anjana Samadder has been elected as the Vice President of AAPI, Dr. Satheesh Kathula was elected Secretary and Dr. Krishan Kumar was elected Treasurer of AAPI for the year 20-21. Dr. Sapna Aggarwal, Dr. Lokesh Edara, and Dr. Srinagesh Paluvoi were elected to AAPI’s Board of Trustees for a two-year term.

“AAPI electoral process has concluded successfully and the results are being announced today. Today I feel very satisfied that we, the election committee, were able to do our Job right in providing a very FAIR election to everyone, following all bylaws, while dealing with big CHALLENGES in implementation of this new ELECTRONIC PROCESS, taking extra security precautions, anti-hacking measures,  fixing glitches, resolving disputes, anxieties, and concerns of the members,” Dr. Arora added. She thanked the election committee members, Dr. Ranga Reddy, Dr. Sharad Lakhanpal, Dr. Surendra Purohit and Dr. Surekha Rao and the entire Executive committee led by Dr. Jonnalgadda for making this election smooth and transparent.

Dr. Sajani Shah, the current BOT Chair thanked the Election Committee for their meticulous planning and organizing the elections with integrity and fairness. She said, “I congratulate the winners and the new leadership who are entrusted with the responsibility of leading it in the year 2021-22 and beyond. I wish them the very best and my whole-hearted support.”

“As the incoming President of AAPI, I would like to congratulate my incoming new team for the fiscal year 2021-22,” said Dr. Anupama Gotimukula, who will be the President of AAPI in the year 2021-22. “I’m very honored, privileged and consider myself fortunate to be bestowed with the responsibility of leading the nearly four decades old organization with the cooperation and collaboration of an excellent group of dedicated, hardworking, and loyal officers and executive committee members who are with me to take AAPI to new heights.”

Dr. Gotimukula will have Dr. Ravi Kolli- President –Elect; Dr. Anjana Samaddar- Vice President; Dr. Satish Kathula- Secretary; Dr. Krishan Kumar- Treasurer; Dr. Kusum Punjabi- Chair, Board of Trustees; Dr. Sowmya Neravetla- President, Young Physicians Section; and, Dr. Ayesha Singh, President, Medical Student/Residents & Fellows Section. “AAPI is fortunate to have more women representation in 2021-22 year and the team is excited working towards strengthening the  goals and mission of AAPI and to visualize AAPI a healthcare leader in US and globally and work in the best interests of our Physicians and our Communities,” added Dr. Gotimukula.    

While congratulating the newly elected leaders to the Executive Committee, Dr. Ravi Kolli, the President-Elect in 2021-22 said here in a statement: “I want to congratulate all the winners of election. I want to specially thank all the candidates for their passion and dedication to serve AAPI and regardless of the outcome, we need you as a valuable team member of our beloved AAPI.  We will work together to promote our values of professionalism, collegiality, excellence in patient care and enhance AAPI’s reputation as a premiere professional organization offering educational programs and advocacy.”

Dr. Anajana Samadder, who won the election to be the next Vice President of AAPI, said, “I am humbled and honored to be bestowed with this responsibility and will work to the greatest of my abilities to reach our goals, addressing the challenges, and advance the issues important to our members. This win belongs to all our members for trusting our vision of growth & progress. Thank you for choosing me as your representative and with team work, transparency, and greater member participation we will be able to achieve our target. The journey has just started and there is lot of work to be done. I hope to receive your continued support and love “

Dr. Satheesh Kathula, Secretary-Elect of AAPI said, “I would like to thank all AAPI members from the bottom of my heart for this honor and assure that I will sincerely work for the betterment of our beloved organization, AAPI. Once again, I thank everyone for the opportunity to serve.” He expressed gratitude to the Election Committee Team, who “successfully organized this election, for the first time electronically with great participation from members.”

Dr. Krishan Kumar, the newly elected Treasurer of AAPI said, “I am honored to be elected as the Treasurer of national AAPI. As an organization, AAPI is committed to increasing young physicians’ knowledge base, enhancing their careers, and empowering them to play a key role in healthcare advocacy and community service. I will continue my dedicated work of several years helping fulfil our mission.”

In his message, the current Secretary of AAPI, Dr. Amit Chakrabarty said, “I am thankful to my Supporters who gave me their precious vote honoring my 25 years of service for AAPI. I will soon finish my tenure as your secretary and I take with me all your wishes, and memories.  Everything is life is a learning opportunity, and I have learned a lot from this election. I will take this wisdom with me forever to the future. I congratulate all the winners. I wish Anjana the best of luck as she moves forward with her position.”

The growing influence of physicians of Indian heritage is evident, as increasingly physicians of Indian origin hold critical positions in the healthcare, academic, research and administrative positions across the nation. We the physicians of Indian origin are proud of our great achievements and contributions to our motherland, India, our adopted land, the US and in a very significant way to the transformation of the Indo-US relations.

Serving 1 in every 7 patients in the US, AAPI members care for millions of patients every day, while several of them have risen to hold high flying jobs, shaping the policies and programs and inventions that shape the landscape of healthcare in the US and around the  world.

 Dr. Jonnalagadda, while reminding the members of AAPI said, “Since its inception in 1982, AAPI has been in the forefront, representing a conglomeration of more than 80,000 practicing physicians in the United States, seeking to be the united voice of the physicians of Indian origin, I hope and wish that the new Team under Dr. Gotimukula will continue the noble mission and strengthen our efforts to make AAPI reach greater heights.”  For more details, please visit:

Related posts

Bullying makes life miserable for academics: Study


Ex-cop says he was forced to make sex tape; alleges racism in lawsuit


New US entry bar order will likely exempt green-card holders


Leave a Comment