NRI Pulse

City News

BAGA Premiere Cricket League Scicom Cup

By Rabindra Chakraborty

On the fine Saturday morning of September 22nd, four high energy teams in the BAGA Premier Cricket League- Rongbaaj, Bengal Tigers, ICC and Super Strikers took the grounds at the Fowler Park, Cumming for a whole day cricket tournament, each team eyeing on winning the trophy – Scicom Cup. Teams consisted of both ladies and men. The 12-over innings games were played following the Atlanta Cricket League (ACL) rules and under the direction of the umpires, Anoop Menon and Gaurav Dadu.

Rongbaaj, ICC, Super Strikers and Bengal Tigers were led by their respective captains Dipankar Roy, Arijit Chowdhury, Subho Nath and Arup Dhar. The final match was played between Super Strikers and Bengal Tigers. Unfortunately, the game could not proceed beyond 11th over due to very bad light on the field. Both teams were declared as the joint winner of the Scicom Cup 2018.

It was a great day for the community and each game was filled with exciting cricket, cheering support, music, friendliness and snacks.

The Scicom Cup was sponsored by Scicom Infrastructure Services.

 Score Card Snapshot for Scicom Cup*:




Man of the Match

ICC vs. Super Striker ICC: 51/9 in 12 overs; SS: 55/3 in 10.5 overs SS Romio
Rongbaaj vs. Bengal Tigers BT: 52/7 in 12 overs; RB: 37/all in 11.2 overs BT Atanu
ICC vs. Bengal Tigers BT: 83/2 in 12 overs; ICC: 85/2 in 12 overs ICC Debopriya
Rongbaaj vs. Super Strikers RB: 47/8 in 12 overs; SS: 50/6 in 10.1 overs SS Samiran
Rongbaaj vs. ICC RB: 70 in 11.5 overs; ICC: 67/7 in 12 overs RB Pratik
Bengal Tigers vs. Super Strikers BT: 36/7 in 12 overs; SS: 37/6 in 9.3 overs SS Romio
Bengal Tigers vs. Super Strikers Final: BT: 59/7 in 11.5 overs. SS: None. Joint Match Abandoned.

Related posts

GATA Celebrates Diwali with Stars and Fireworks


Lohri Celebrated at Shree Mandir in Mableton


Glitz, Glamour, Entertainment & More at GAPI Annual Banquet


Leave a Comment